Sick children, sick dogs, and parenting

If there is one thing that lets a grown man jump up and away quicker than a flash of lightning it is a child about to be sick. A mother on the other hand, rushes towards said child and tries to minimise the damage that the projectile will be doing.

Why is it, that children do not rush to the toilet as adults do? Why is it that they first have the innate need to come and wake you with a, ‘Mummy, I don’t feel so bwuhhh…’ and there you go, not only do you have to get your offspring to the toilet, you also have to navigate your way around the mess on the carpet! It does not help to tell them to puke into the china bowl, noóóóó, most of it is already on the floor and they already feel a ‘little bit better’.

On the topic of being sick, being dad and being mum… There I was, dressing one of the children, not after a pukey session, but after bath time, enjoying the smell and feel of that precious little body, when I hear the slightly hysterical voice of my beloved. The dog has just brought up her food and gravy from the kangaroo steaks that I slow-cooked. Mind you, he calls me, who are busy to come and clean up the mess, in front of my part of the bed, while he was doing absolutely, positively NOTHING!!!!

No, this is not a hubby bashing post. On the contrary. This man of mine takes out the rubbish and ties the rubbish bags even when there are a multitude of maggots crawling around in the bag. Oh no, no, no I won’t do that!

It is just that there are certain things our stomachs are better at handling. Parenting is team work. It is not one pulling against the other. It is understanding your strength and not so strong points and working with it. There are many things I would not have been able to do if it was not for the unity I have with my husband. I would not be able to home school if I did not have his support. I would not have started this blog if it was not for his encouragement. I would not have enrolled in the course I currently am, if it was not at his insistence. We just make each other better.

So what if he proves them who says ‘White men can’t jump,’ wrong when one of our children says, “I don’t feel so bwuhhhh.” So what if I get called from whatever I am busy with to tend to the dog’s remnants on the carpet at my side of the bed. At least I do not have to tie those rubbish bins with the maggots crawling around!

2 thoughts on “Sick children, sick dogs, and parenting

  1. lol…Had a bit of an embarrassed giggle reading your post my dear friend.

    You see, I’m the one that does not deal very well with ‘bwuhhh’ at all, in actual fact, just reading your post had me put down the rest of my lunch!

    While, I’m getting it out there: I can’t do open wounds and pulling that ‘hanging by a thread’-tooth either. I’ll much rather take out the maggot-invested bin or pick the remnants of ‘what was a gecko’ off the floor, as I did this morning.

    But, sharing that, I do agree with your post, we’re so blessed if we can operate as a team – in unity.

    I’m eternally grateful for my Spirit-filled husband; who, as part of God’s right hand, has been there to shape, form and chisel me over the years. I used to be extremely headstrong and one can say a rough diamond, especially with my tongue and temper. Sometimes, actually more often when I’m riding the monthly hormonal roller coaster, some of the tarnish presents itself big time, often in front of others.

    But know this, I’m trying, and by God’s grace and forgiveness, as well as my husband and other loved-ones’ unconditional love, I’ll overcome and be who He has called me to be.

    Thanks again for putting it out there…although it made me wanted to go ‘bwuhhh’

    Like

Leave a Reply

