Letter to My Future Daughter-in-Law

Dear future daughter-in-law,

I read in today’s http://www.news.com.au that chivalry is benevolent sexism. My girl, allow this middle aged woman of two boys tell you one thing tonight, this as absolute balderdash!

Today I would like to share with you what I have learnt in my life, both through my husband’s conduct as well as my dad’s conduct towards me. I hope that you have a dad like my dad was, and that the son you choose to be your husband, will treat you like their dad treats me. I can promise you that I will try my best to raise them to be chivalrous husbands, because you, my girl, deserve it.

This article wants to claim that a man being a gentleman is actually thinking that you are feeble and weak. Oh contrare my friend! A man who is a gentleman have come to understand that woman are special, that woman are incredibly strong, and that they are capable of anything that they choose to set their minds to. I would not be who I am today if it was not for a dad who believed that I could be whatever I want to be, and that I could be the absolute best I wanted to be at whatever I chose to be. I would not sit here and type this post on my blog, to you, if it was not for my husband who believed in the talent that I have, who believed that I have a contribution to make to the outside world.

My girl, you allowing your husband to be a gentleman, shows incredible strength within yourself. Because you have come to understand that things made from preciousness are worthy to be treasured, and treated with respect.

You see, people get that part of the Bible wrong when they refer to it as saying that women are a weaker vessel – the intention it wants to portray is that women are pieces of art.

If God so chooses, and you want to, you will be able to go through child birth. Do you think that is something a weakling do? You will be able to nurse your baby at the breast – take it from someone who has been there, it is not easy at all. You will have moments of incredible weakness, and you will decide to carry on, push through. Does that sound weak to you?

Do you not think you deserve someone who will give you recognition for the wondrous creation you are?

My dearest daughter-in-law, a man treating you like a gentleman has absolutely nothing to do with benevolent sexism! It has everything to do with respect – respect for himself and respect for you.

I am not going to stop teaching my boys to treat women with respect. I deserve it.

Much love,

your mum-in-law

3 thoughts on “Letter to My Future Daughter-in-Law

  1. Pingback: Anna Atkins, the Google doodle and what she taught me | Marlize Venter

Leave a Reply

